The first ever Sondeka Awards were held at the Louis Leakey Auditorium at the National Museums of Kenya. The awards were organized by Creatives Garage to recognize Kenyan Creatives. Edward Sigei of the Kenya Copyright Board, who was a speaker at the event, said that young creatives should be paid for the work that they do.

After a one-month application period which began on 15th February 2018, the list of nominees was announced for public voting today on the 14th of March 2017. The panel of judges selected the final nominees from a pool of over 130 successful applicants according to the creativity of technique and process, execution, quality of craft, innovation and the overall experience of the craft. 30,000 votes were recorded during the voting phase.

The Gala event saw women taking home most of the awards. Here is the full list of winners in the Sondeka Awards 2018

  1. Short Stories

Mark Maina – Winner

James Gicheru

Mishi Khalid

Lolyne Ongeri

Mwihaki Muraguri

  1. Traditional Art

Winter Oirya – Winner

David Maina

Oscar Osumo

  1. Digital Art

Anne Gichuki – Winner

Wanjiru Thiong’o

Feysal Anthony Nair

  1. Alternative/Experimental Music

G-cho Pevu – Winner

Abakisimba Troupe

Ayrosh N/A

L.O.T Group

Linda Girl Group

  1. Poetry and Spoken word

Nicole Akinyi – Winner

Michael Onsando

Mumbi Macharia

Tessy Aura

Stori za Kapedo

  1. Live Bands

Tetu Shani – Winner

Maia Von Lekow

Grand Master Masese

  1. Dance

The Dancing Biochemist – Winner

Bboy Harry

Oneal Otutu

  1. Online radio and Podcasts

The Music Junkies – Winner

Omenerds Podcast


  1. Judges Award

Maia Von Lekow – Winner