The Creatives Garage has announced the nominees for this year’s Sondeka awards. Being in its second edition, the awards have grown exponentially, with 180 entries this year compared to last year’s 150 entries.

According to Creatives Garage chief mechanic, Liz Kilili, Sondeka Awards highlights and celebrates works from creative artists that are seldom recognized. It is a way of acknowledging the successes within the creative community.

“We have appreciated the growth of unrecognized creatives and have taken it to task to recognize and reward these exceptionally capable individuals from our creative community, “ she said.

Creatives Garage began receiving submissions for the awards on February 15th 2019. Categories available for nominee slots were: Dance, Experimental music, Poetry and Spoken Word, Traditional Art, Digital Art, Short Stories, Live Bands, and Online Radio and Podcasts. This they added a new category, street art.

Here are the nominees:


  • UNikk Dance Crew
  • Nedyparezo (Kennedy Kavete)
  • Mau Mau Arts
  • Davillah
  • Jenner jay

Digital Art

  • Brian Olando Omolo
  • Bénir Kenya
  • Oldenglishpapii
  • Kallaz
  • Jordan Mwaura

Experimental Music

  • Alex Kiama Muu
  • Whole Foods
  • Jeff Muteru
  • KNVL.
  • Live Band
  • Tetu Shani
  • BlvckMoon
  • Noel Nderitu
  • RASH
  • Dedenm wambingu

Online Radio And Podcast

  • Asylum Radio: Friday Foreplay
  • 123Sketches
  • Bad Mambo Productions
  • Paukwa Stories Podcast
  • Jus Kidding Podcast

Poetry And Spoken Word

  • Kaploti Mwenyewe
  • Ivan Irakoze
  • Cardiac poet
  • Alfaisal 254
  • Story za Kapedo

Short Stories

  • Paul Muhiu and Peter Kioria
  • Stephen Ataro & Anthony
  • Shack Korir
  • Natalie Sifuma
  • Cj Gicheru


  • Mr Detail Seven
  • Daddo Omutitii
  • Elijah “Eljay” Mutua

Traditional Art

  • Samuel Kamau Kariuki
  • Evans Maina Ngure
  • Martin Liam Njiru
  • Ango
  • Musyoka Martin

Lifetime achievement

  • Leonard Mambo Mbotela
  • Ojwang (Benson Wanjau)
  • Joy Mboya
  • Magdalene Odundo
  • John Sibi Okumu

Following this, voting is open to the public from 6th March 2019 and ends on 23rd March 2019. Vote for your favourite nominee, here.

The final list of winners will be announced during the Awards Ceremony.

Join the conversation today using the hashtag #SondekaAwards2019