Development Diaries Ltd has began an initiative to award social media users. They have launched the Social Media Awards Africa (SMAA) which seeks to recognise and celebrate excellence, creativity and the impact of social media.

The SMAA has four categories and 15 awards targeted at personalities, platforms, institutions and indigenous initiatives that have demonstrated far-reaching impact on human socio-economic development in digital and social media practice through various tools and platforms.
Individuals, Organisations and brands are invited to participate in the nomination process in four categories distinct categories summarised below:

  1. PERSONALITY BASED (Awards for individual achievements in social media):
    • Blogger of the Year
    • Social Media Personality of the Year
    • Social Media Hero
  2. PLATFORM (Specific Social Platforms):
    • Facebook Page of the Year
    • Twitter Handle of the Year
    • Influencer of the Year (LinkedIn, YouTube, Google+, Instagram)
  3. INSTITUTIONAL(Best Use of Social Media by):
    • Government/Public Sector
    • Private Sector
    • Non-Profit
    • Start-up/MSME
    • Financial Institution
  4. INDIGENOUS (Local Campaigns and Brands):
    • App of the Year
    • Hashtag of the Year
    • Brand of the Year
    • Best Rated Platform

Nominations are open until midnight on 27 October 2014 and can be made here. Winners will be announced at the ‘Night of Virtual Wonders’ on 6 December 2014 in Lagos, Nigeria.

Each winner will take home a cash prize of $1,000 and SMAA Plaque. Other benefits include social media training, access to memberships and attendance of social media events, publications on social media and complimentary advertising on social media Africa portal.

The Social Media Awards Africa is sponsored by Sterling Bank Plc. African Media Initiative (AMI), AIESEC Africa, West African NGO Network (WANGONET) and Beat FM are Partners.

Image Credits